JASON BLAKE: Chicago Progressive Warr Guitarist To Release Radiant Dusk Solo Album In October...

photos by Cristina Rivas

Chicago-based progressive Warr guitarist JASON BLAKE has completed a set of albums for release this Fall, today unveiling details on the recordings as well as the first audio preview.

JASON BLAKE has been establishing himself over the past few years as, “one of the most distinguished technicians on the Warr.” The Warr guitar is a unique twelve-string instrument incorporating the range of a guitar and bass that is played by tapping the strings, a technique known as touchstyle.

Primarily known for his work with the progressive metal instrumental band, Aziola Cry, JASON BLAKE has begun to build an impressive resume as a solo artist. For this work, he has pushed the boundaries of the instrument while incorporating elements of progressive rock, ambient, and classical. Having released a varied series of instrumental albums under his name, JASON BLAKE returns with his most intimate album to date with Radiant Dusk.

The material on Radiant Dusk was written and recorded around the same time as BLAKE’s most recent progressive rock release, Subsequent Ruins. He reveals, “I was writing a lot of material for Subsequent Ruins, but some of it just didn’t seem to fit that album. I decided to record these new songs anyway which became the basis for Radiant Dusk. Once I was completely done with Subsequent Ruins, I turned my attention to writing more material and completing this album. I felt like some of the material would sound good with drums, so we experimented with this idea which eventually became the companion album, Slightly Different Paths.”

BLAKE used his semi-hallow Artisan Warr guitar on these recordings to give them an “acoustic” sound. The ten-song Radiant Dusk and its six-song companion Slightly Different Paths – which sees BLAKE joined by drummer Amery Schmeisser – were recorded, mixed, and mastered in Chicago at Gravel Road Recording by Schmeisser. Longtime collaborator Hajo Mueller (Steven Wilson, Mariusz Duda) completed the beautiful artwork for both releases.

BLAKE writes, “Since some of the songs on this album are a departure from my typical sound, I wanted to open with something that was reminiscent of what I am known for. ‘An Aversion To Fervor’ has elements of progressive rock while also introducing the stripped-down acoustic vibe of this album.”

The first preview of JASON BLAKE’s new recordings comes in the form of “An Aversion To Fervor” now streaming at THIS LOCATION.

Radiant Dusk will be independently released digitally on October 20th. Slightly Different Paths will be released in November, at which time both records will be released in a 2xCD package. Find preorders for Radiant Dusk HERE.

 Watch for additional audio and video previews from the pair to drop over the weeks ahead.

Radiant Dusk Track Listing:
1. An Aversion To Fervor
2. Without A Murmur
3. Misplaced Moments
4. Radiant Dusk
5. A Perverse Rumination
6. What May Ensue
7. Trivial Colloquy
8. Seemingly Quixotic
9. An Errant Pawn
10. At Last Resolve


The post JASON BLAKE: Chicago Progressive Warr Guitarist To Release Radiant Dusk Solo Album In October With Companion Album, Slightly Different Paths, To Follow In November; New Track Streaming first appeared on Earsplit Compound.

Leave a comment