THE ETERNAL: Finnish-Australian Metal Quartet Presents Lyric Video For Hypnotizing Title Track Of...

Photo by AJ Savolainen

After six years, Finnish-Australian metal quartet THE ETERNAL will release their seventh studio album, Skinwalker, on June 28th via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM), today unveiling a lyric video for the record’s title track.

Following the band’s “Deathlike Silence” single released last month, today the band invites listeners to explore another chapter of the album in the form of its intense title track. Featuring acclaimed Tuvan throat singer Albert Kuvezin (Yat-Kha) and Russian singer Emily Saaen, the song incorporates unearthly drones that add an otherworldly dimension to the track. Lyrically describing a shapeshifting entity, THE ETERNAL have masterfully crafted a piece of profound heaviness, with vocalist/guitarist Mark Kelson’s almost chant-like vocals enhancing the haunting and eerie atmosphere created by the rest of the group.

Watch THE ETERNAL’s video for “Skinwalker” HERE. Stream/purchase the track HERE.

Watch the band’s previously released video for “Deathlike Silence” HERE.

Skinwalker promises a continuation of THE ETERNAL‘s rich musical legacy but is also set to be a defining moment creatively for the band, which now includes the esteemed talents of new members Jan Rechberger (drums; Amorphis) and Niclas Etelävuori (bass; Flat Earth, ex-Amorphis). The album features several notable guest appearances including Tomi Joutsen (Amorphis), Santeri Kallio (Amorphis), Sami Yli-Sirniö (Kreator), and award-winning Tuvian throat singer Albert Kuvezin (Yat-Kha) to name a few.

Skinwalker was recorded at vocalist/guitarist Mark Kelson’s Lucidity Sound Studios and drummer Jan Rechberger’s Moon Unit Studios and produced by Kelson and Rechberger as well as guitarist Richie Poate. The record was also mixed by Kelson and Rechberger at Moon Unit before sending it off to Crystal Mastering in Melbourne, Australia. In the end, creative force Kelson was even responsible for the artwork, supported by the prominent skills of Travis Smith (Opeth, Amorphis).

Preorder the album in the physical format of your choice (CD-digi, Transparent/Black Marbled 2xLP), presave it on your favorite DSP, or preorder it digitally to receive “Skinwalker” and “Deathlike Silence” instantly now at

Originally formed in Melbourne, Australia, THE ETERNAL emerged onto the music scene in early 2003 before evolving into a truly international collaboration, with half of the members being based in Melbourne, and the other half in Helsinki, Finland. Over their two-decade journey, the band has garnered international acclaim through the release of six studio albums. Their extensive touring has taken them across national and international landscapes, sharing stages with renowned acts such as Amorphis, Anathema, Him, Katatonia, Swallow The Sun, and Opeth among others. To begin this exciting new chapter in the band’s history, THE ETERNAL recently signed an international long-term deal with German/US based label Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM), which has a roster of outstanding internationally acclaimed artists.

Mark Kelson – vocals, guitars
Richie Poate – guitars
Niclas Etelävuori – bass
Jan Rechberger – drums, percussion

Single art

The post THE ETERNAL: Finnish-Australian Metal Quartet Presents Lyric Video For Hypnotizing Title Track Of Their Upcoming Full-Length, Skinwalker first appeared on Earsplit Compound.

Leave a comment